Department of Community Medicine was formally established in 1977 in the institute. Its main focus was to evolve a feasible pattern of healthcare delivery for the masses.  The department also sought to provide community health orientation to various activities of the institute. The MD programme in Community Medicine was started in July 1997. The department was renamed as School of Public Health in 2007 and as “Department of Community Medicine and School of Public Health” in 2018. Master of Public Health (MPH) course was started in 2007.

The department of Community Medicine and School of Public Health is primarily located in RN Dogra Block, PGIMER, Chandigarh. It also has a laboratory space on 5th floor, in Research Block B of the institute. The department is involved following activities

Teaching and Training

It includes MD courses  (3 years degree for medical graduates) , Doctor of Philosophy (PhD-3 to 5 years course for graduates   with a degree like MBBS/BDS/ BVSc/BE/MSc, MPH), Masters in Public Health (2 years course for those who have a  degree of MBBS/BDS/ BVSc/BE/MA/MSc), Postgraduate Diploma in Public Health  Management ( for sponsored medical officers only),  and Bachelor in Public Health ( 3 year degree course for 10 +2  pass students ). Besides these courses, the department is involved  in training of various categories of health care professionals / workers as well as education of general  public. 

Community Health Service 

The department provides comprehensive health care to a population of nearly 1,50,000. The service areas are located in Chandigarh (Indira Colony, Sectors 25, 45, 49 and 50), Haryana (Raipur Rani and Barwala blocks of District Panchkula, Shahzadpur and Naraingarh areas of District  Ambala) and Punjab District Fatehgarh Sahib).

Research and Development

The department has made a significant contribution in research & development related to our discipline. (The details may be viewed in the annual reports of the institute and in respective faculty member’s profile.)




S.No.NameDesignationCategoryEmail Id
1Prof. Amarjeet SinghProfessor &
2Prof. Arun K
3Prof. J. S.
4Prof. Manmeet
5Prof. Madhu
6Prof. PVM
7Prof. Sonu
8Dr. Ravindra KhaiwalAdditional
9Dr. Shankar PrinjaAdditional
10Dr. Tarundeep SinghAssociate
11Dr. Poonam KhannaAssociate
12Dr. Vivek SagarAssistant
13Dr. Kathirvel S. Assistant
14Dr. Tanvi KiranAssistant
15Dr. Kapil GoelAssistant
16Dr. Bijaya Kumar PadhiAssistant
17Dr. Vineeth Raj GopalAssistant