Gastroenterology Centre






Prof. Rakesh Kochhar

Professor & Head


Prof. S.V. Rana



Prof. Usha V. Dutta



Prof. A.K.Sharma



Prof. K.K. Prasad



Prof. S.K. Sinha 



Prof. Sadhna Bhasin Lal




Prof. Surinder Rana



Dr. Vishal Sharma

Assistant Professor



Dr. Mandandhare Harshal. SAssistant ProfessorGastroenterology



Dr. Pankaj GuptaAssistant Professor,      GE-Radiology
Dr. Jayanta SamantaAssistant ProfessorGastroenterology 
Dr. Rishi Kumar BoliaAssistant Professor (PGE)Gastroenterology 


            The division of Gastroenterology was initiated in 1966. A single faculty member with the help of a registrar and fringe support from other members of the department of medicine made the budding beginning (Annual Report PGIMER 1967-68). In 1967 Ministry of Health, Govt. of India sanctioned Superspeciality in Gastroenterology to provide comprehensive medical care, train medical persons as Consultant Gastroenterologist and conduct research in the field relevant to country’s need. The course DM (Gastroenterology) was started in 1969.

The department has made considerable progress over last 4 decades and has set one of the highest standards for patient care, medical education and research. The department has published more than 1000 papers in national and international journals and trained more than 150 gastroenterologists who are now working at leading centers all across the world. The department has been recently rated among top five gastroenterology centers of the country by a leading national daily.

The department over the last four decades has been fulfilling the manadate of PGI  of  Service to the Community, Care of the Needy and Research for the Good of all. The department has been providing highest quality affordable patient care to the community. Apart from routine upper gastrointestinal endoscopy and colonoscopy, the department is among the few centres of our country providing advanced diagnostic and therapeutic procedures like pancreatic and biliary therapeutic ERCP, endoscopic ultrasonography and elastography including interventional EUS, capsule endoscopy, balloon enteroscopy, endoscopic mucosal resection (EMR), high resolution manometry, pH metry, magnification and chromo endoscopy, cholangioscopy, and pancreatoscopy.    

The department imparts service in Clinical Gastroenterology and Hepatology for adults, Paediatric Gastroenterology and Hepatology for children and Community Gastroenterology for service in the community.

The department gives clinical training to DM (Gastroenterology), MD (Medicine) and MCh (Gastrointestinal Surgery) students. It has guided several DM (Gastroenterology), MD and Ph.D thesis in the field of Medical Gastroenterology.


Contact No - 0091-172-275-6607 (Office)



Departmental Faculty:

Head of the Department: Prof Rakesh Kochhar, MD, DM, MAMS, FACG

Prof Satyavati Rana, PhD

Prof  Usha Dutta, MD, DM, Masters Research Methodology

Prof Arun K Sharma, MD

Prof Kaushal K Prasad, MD, PDCC, MAMS

Prof Saroj K Sinha, MD, DM

Prof Sadhna Lal, MD, DM

Prof Surinder S Rana, MD, DM, MAMS, FASGE

Dr. Vishal Sharma MD, DM

Dr. Mandandhare Harshal.S MD, DM

Dr. Pankaj Gupta, MD

Dr. Jayanta Samanta, MD DM

Dr. Rishi Kumar Bolia, MD, DM (Pediatric Gastroenterology)



Pool Officers

  1. Dr Gaurav Muktesh 

Senior Residents:

  1. Dr Bala ji
  2. Dr Shah Jimil
  3. Dr Roshan Agarwal
  4. Dr Siddharth
  5. Dr Jagdeesh Menon (PGE)
  6. Dr Shruti(PGE)
  7. Dr Vikash
  8. Dr Pranav
  9. Dr Anupam
  10. Dr Aditi (PGE)
  11. Dr Saurabh 
  12. Dr Suhang Verma
  13. Dr Philip Daniel
  14. Dr Amitawa Dutta
  15. Dr Nikhil
  16. Dr Chagan Lal
  17. Dr Antriksh Kumar
  18. Dr Aradhana Aneja (PGE)
  19. Dr G. Vybhav Venkatesh
  20. Dr. Anurag Jena
  21. Dr. Jahnvi Dhar
  22. Dr.Pankaj Kumar
  23. Dr. Subhra Mishra

 Administrative Staff:

  1. Mr Jitender Kumar
  2. Mrs Savita Rani
  3. Mr. Satish Kumar Gautam
  4. Mr.Sonu

Technical Staff:

  1. Mrs Surinder Kaur
  2. Mr Bhupinder Kumar
  3. Mr Ashwani Kumar
  4. Mrs Parminder Kaur
  5. Mr Jaimal Singh
  6. Ms Chanchala
  7. Mr Tej Bhadur
  8. Mr Rajinder Singh
  9. Mr Ravinder Kumar
  10. Mr Dalip Singh
  11. Mrs Tripta Rani


  1. Mr Ram Narain Sharma
  2. Mr Ramesh Sood
  3. Mr Pal Singh
  4. Mr Paramjeet Singh
  5. Mr Inderjeet Singh
  6. Mr Naresk Kumar
  7. Mr Bhupender
  8. Mr Narender Singh
  9. Mr Kiran Pal
  10. Mr Anil Kumar
  11. Mr Darbara
  12. Mr Karambir
  13. Mr Maghan 
Services offered: 

Diagnostic and therapeutic endoscopy and colonoscopy

Endoscopic retrograde cholangiopancreatography (ERCP)

Therapeutic biliary and pancreatic endoscopy

Intra Ductal Ultrasound

Diagnostic and Therapeutic endoscopic ultrasound

EUS Elastography

Capsule endoscopy

Diagnostic and interventional gastrointestinal radiology services

Biliary and pancreatic ductoscopy

High resolution Manometry

pH metry

Magnification endoscopy and narrow band imaging

Endoscopic mucosal resection 

Liver biopsy

Stents Placement

Feeding tube placements

Balloon Dilatation

Hepatitis viral markers

Rota virus assays

Malabsorption tests

Adenosine deaminase levels in body fluids

Breath tests for malabsorption and bacterial overgrowth

Tumor markers

Gastrointestinal microbiology services including Clostridium difficile assays 

Gastrointestinal Pathology Services